The International Space Station (ISS) is a multinational collaborative space station between the USA (NASA), Russia (Roscosmos), Japan (JAXA), Europe (ESA) and Canada (CSA).

The ISS was launched in 1998 and its original purpose was for observation, as well as acting as a research centre and a mode of transport for any future missions. To date, 242 individuals have travelled to the ISS, with the space station being continuously occupied since November 2000.

The ISS is one 0f the most technologically advanced satellites to date, with a wingspan of 356 feet, a mass of 419,725 kilograms, and a speed of 5 miles per second (orbiting the Earth every 90 minutes). The interior of the ISS includes an area for the astronauts to carry out scientific research, such as astrobiology, human research etc.